Politics and Tollywood Celebrities in 2014

By - April 19, 2014 - 12:02 PM IST

More Stories

The year of 2014 will go down in Tollywood’s film history as a remarkable year as most of the film personalities have lent their supporting hand to the existing or new political parties. Senior heroes, in-form heroes, directors, character artists, comedians, actresses – you name anyone, the current politics have them! We will get into the details of those film celebrities one-by-one now...

Pawan Kalyan -> In spite of being in the prime form, Pawan Kalyan wanted to make his entry into active politics and forming Jana Sena Party is the result of this. Being a matured person, he is not contesting in the current elections but will be supporting Narendra Modi’s leadership. We might see him as a contestant in the 2019 elections.

Chiranjeevi -> Chiru has been selected as the star campaigner by the Congress Party High Command and he is busy with the same...

Nandamuri Balakrishna -> Balayya babu will be contesting as an MLA candidate from Hindhupur constituency and he has the support of his fans and TDP loyalists.

Akkineni Nagarjuna -> Nag is extending his support to the prime ministerial candidate Modi and will not be contesting from anywhere!

Mahesh Babu -> We will be seeing Mahesh supporting his brother-in-law Jaydev Galla and might even campaign for him in Guntur.

Junior Ntr -> With an unfortunate turn of events, Ntr will not be seen anywhere in the current 2014 elections. Family politics is being cited as the main reason behind Ntr maintaining a distance from TDP party.

Sivaji -> Started as a neutral candidate, actor Sivaji has recently joined BJP and is even campaigning for the party’s success.

Venumadhav -> Comedian Venumadhav is actively participating in the campaigning programs of Telugu Desam Party.

Hema -> Supporting actress Hema is contesting for Assembly from Mandapeta constituency and she is doing this on Jai Samaikyandhra Party ticket.

Jeevitha & Rajasekhar -> Having a track record of changing parties every now and then, Jeevitha and Rajasekhar are currently going with BJP. Though they are not contesting, they will be campaigning for the party if required!

Jayasudha -> Senior actress will be seen contesting on Congress ticket for the second time...

SS Rajamouli -> Star director Rajamouli will be seen campaigning for Loksatta Party in these elections in the support of its leader JP and other contestants!

Sirivennela -> Senior lyric writer Sirivennela Seetarama Sastry has joined Loksatta and will be delivering some inspiring speeched for the party.

Apart from the above mentioned celebrities, we’ve others like Sekhar Kammula, Ram Gopal Varma, Mohan Babu, Lakshmi Prasanna, Ali, Muralimohan, etc who were seen expressing their frank opinions on the current political system and politicians!